The District

Riverside County is a big county. With a total land mass of 7,295 square miles, Riverside County is larger than the states of Connecticut (5,544), Delaware (1,954) and Rhode Island (1,545). 

In terms of population, with 2,239,620 people (2011 US Census estimate) Riverside County is larger than 15 states!

Riverside County's Fourth Supervisorial District is 4,958 square miles, which is 68% of the county's total 7,295 square miles. The other four supervisorial districts can fit in the Fourth District 2.1 times.

The Fourth District includes the cities of Blythe, Cathedral City, Coachella, Desert Hot Springs, Indian Wells, Indio, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Palm Springs and Rancho Mirage.

Major unincorporated areas in the district include Bermuda Dunes, Chiriaco Summit, Desert Center, Desert Edge, Desert Palms, Indio Hills, Lake Tamarisk, Mecca, Mesa Verde, North Shore, Oasis, Ripley, Sky Valley, Thermal, Thousand Palms and Vista Santa Rosa.